Worship in Greek: ἀλλάσσω τὴν λύπην μου (Trading My Sorrows)

30Jan13

So, I haven’t really used this blog in forever. I’ve been thinking of starting it up again. While running through my dummy email and clearing out the inbox, lo! A request for one of the worship songs I mentioned on another blog. In other news, it’s awesome that Daniel Streett is blogging again; I found his blog and read from beginning to end only to find that he had stopped blogging before I had started reading him, haha!

Here you go, Paul!

Ἐπῳδή α´ Verse 1
ἀλλάσσω τὴν λύπην μου I’m trading my sorrow
ἀλλάσσω τὴν αἰσχύνην I’m trading my shame
παρατίθημι εἰς χαρὰν Κυρίου I’m laying [them] down for the joy of the Lord

ὰλλάσσω τὴν ἀσθενείαν I’m trading my sickness
ἀλλάσσω τὸν πόνον μου I’m trading my pain
παρατίθημι εἰς χαρὰν Κυρίου I’m laying [them] down for the joy of the Lord

Χορός Chorus
λέγομεν ναί, Κύριε, ναί, ναί Κύριε We say yes, Lord, yes, yes, Lord
ναί, Κύριε, ναί, ναί Κύριε yes, Lord, yes, yes, Lord
ναί, Κύριε, ναί, ναί Κύριε, Ἀμήν. yes, Lord, yes, yes, Lord, Amen.

Ἐπῳδή β´ Verse 2
ἐν παντὶ θλιβόμενοι, We’re pressed on all sides,
ἀλλ’ οὐ στενοχωρούμενοι yet not crushed,
οὐ μὴ ἀπολλύμενοι certainly not destroyed
μακάριοι ἀντὶ ἀρὰς Blessed beyond cursing
ἐν ἐπαγγελίᾳ αὐτοῦ in His promise
ἡ χαρὰ αὐτοῦ ἰσχυρώσει ἡμᾶς His joy will strengthen us
μενῇ δὴ ὁ πόνος νύκτι Though the pain last for the night,
ἡ δὲ χαρὰ ἔρχεται πρώϊ His joy comes early in the morning

Credit for the original English lyrics (not my back-translation shown here) go to Darrell Evans, as far as I can tell. I translated this on my own, and it’s mostly grammatical as well as metrical for musical purposes.

Some songs I have done are reworked versions from Louis Sorenson. I’ll go ahead and point out his materials.

ἡμεῖς πιστεὐομεν, διὸ δεῖ ἡμᾶς καὶ ᾄδειν. (

No Responses Yet to “Worship in Greek: ἀλλάσσω τὴν λύπην μου (Trading My Sorrows)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

